If you are late for work and caught in traffic, you will naturally feel frustrated and angry. However, if that frustration turns into road rage and someone gets hurt because of the actions triggered by it, you can be held liable for damages in Atlanta. That’s because Georgia is an ‘at fault’ state and reckless driving is considered to be a misdemeanor crime.
A driver can be charged with misdemeanor if he/she is caught recklessly driving with complete disregard of another person or property. This is pretty much the definition of road rage and the crime carries hefty fines, as well as serious jail time.
What is Road Rage?
According to the Department of Motor Vehicles, road rage is any form of violent or aggressive behavior, which originates from uncontrolled anger triggered by other motorists. Common displays include the following:
Drivers who are charged as super speeders must pay $200 in fines, as well as additional court and ticket costs within 120 days of being charged. Failure to do so can result in a suspended driver’s license. In that case, the driver has to pay an additional $50 as a late fee along with the $200 fine to get their driver’s license back.
The fines and charges may seem harsh, but they are important to ensure drivers think twice before acting on their emotions while driving. This includes a $5,000 fine and up to 12 months in jail. Aggressive drivers who are 21 years of age or older can get their driver’s license immediately revoked – especially if their actions resulted in a fatal or injurious accident. This includes drivers who caused injuries or worse while they were driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
If you or a loved one was injured because of someone’s negligent or aggressive driving on the streets of Atlanta, Georgia, get in touch with our attorneys at Shani O. Brooks P.C. We handle each case in meticulous detail and this includes investigating the accident and scene of the crime thoroughly.