Laws Regarding Truck Accidents in Georgia

Tractor-trailers can be intimidating on the road. One wrong turn or brake failure can result in massive loss of life and major damages. Most victims never recover and are left with lifelong medical bills and conditions.

Important Georgia Truck Accident Laws You Should Know

If you or someone you know was involved in a truck accident, experienced Atlanta truck accident lawyers could ensure you get the compensation you deserve. Familiarize yourself with Georgia truck accident laws beforehand:

Negligent Entrustment Law

All carriers and fleet owners in Georgia have to conduct a thorough background check of each new driver they hire. Their motor vehicle records should not be off-limits, and they should also contact their previous employers. If they discover an accident in the driver’s records, the carrier is duty-bound to check the driver’s records for accuracy and their account of the incident.

If the carrier is aware of such incidents and the driver’s inexperience, they have to ensure they are trained. If they allow them to drive a truck and the driver gets into an accident, the carrier could be charged with negligent entrustment.

Hours of Service Laws

To prevent tired drivers from getting behind the wheel, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) maintains strict service hours all carriers have to adhere to. The rules determine how long drivers can work and rest. Some of the regulations that trucking organizations have to follow include the following:

  • Truck drivers cannot drive for more than 11 hours after completing 10 hours of rest.
  • Truck drivers should stop driving if they have driven for more than 13 consecutive hours. Breaks and refueling don’t count.
  • Truck drivers should be allowed a half-hour break for every eight consecutive hours they drive. They can load or refuel during this time.
  • Truck drivers cannot drive more than 60 hours a week or 70 hours in eight straight days. If the driver takes 34+ hours of rest, this resets.

Important note: All drivers have to maintain logs of their service hours to ensure they are compliant. If your employer forces you to overwork and violates those laws, you have the right to sue. In some cases, employers can deliberately increase hourly limits by falsifying logbooks.

Statute Of Limitations for Filing Truck Accident Claims

According to the statute of limitations for Georgia truck accidents, you have two years to file a lawsuit after the right to sue accrues. This means you should try your best to file the suit on the date the accident occurred. This can only increase if criminal charges are involved, and investigations can take six years. Experienced Atlanta truck accident lawyers can determine exceptions that can help your case.

Contact Shani O. Brooks for Cases Involving Truck Accidents

If you have been injured in a truck accident involving a commercial truck and need knowledgeable and determined lawyers, get in touch with Shani O. Brooks P.C., Attorneys at Law. We understand Georgia truck accident laws better than you do and can ensure you get the maximum compensation you deserve. Get in touch with us for a consultation today! We urge you to take immediate action lest the carrier tries to hide critical evidence.

Shani O. Brooks Has Recovered Millions for Injury Victims Throughout the Greater Atlanta Area

logo
logo
logo
logo